Making, Painting and Creating!

Spent time time in the studio today continuing on with my work for the degree show along side fellow artists Helen Axton and Vanessa Balmer

The rollers were out and the paint clothes were on! I am currently working on the addition of these jagged frames to accompany the boards that I have previously made. Having overcome my previous artist block, I finally felt like I was moving forward and definitely making progress!

Throughout the development of my practice, I have experimented with a variety of genres including video and collage and with this current piece, I have been dipping into the field of sculpture.  Unlike previous works, I have been thinking more about material and colour rather than the imagery in the piece. With my previous works, the use of imagery was a vital part in the work, however this time, my work experiments with natural materials which have been cut to shape and coloured to therefore reflect the harsh nature of the beauty industry.

The slide show below shows the progress being made in the studio whilst the gallery spaces are being tidied and painted ready for some amazing artwork!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

